Recent Searches
Clear

Skip-the-Line Paris Catacombs Special Access Tour

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Paris, France
 Skip-the-Line Paris Catacombs Special Access Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Venture beneath the City of Light to explore the dark underworld of the Paris Catacombs. Skip the entrance lines and head inside this fantastically macabre tunnel system filled with the skeletal remains of more than 6 million Parisians. Hear about the remarkable construction of the catacombs from an expert guide as you walk past ornate chambers piled with decorative arrangements of bones, and gain special access to chapels and chambers closed to the general public. Group size is limited to 19.
  • Discover the Catacombs, Paris underground cemetery with your local expert guide
  • Explore the Catacombs with a small group tour of 19 people or fewer
  • Skip the long lines and walk directly into the Catacombs
Saved to wishlist!
Skip the line access to Paris Catacombs
Access to special areas of Paris Catacombs
Expert English/ French speaking guide
Gratuities
Hotel Pick-Up/Drop-Off
2 Av. du Général Leclerc , 2 Av. du Général Leclerc, 75014 Paris, France

In front of the Café du Rendez-vous, located on the 2, avenue du Général Leclerc - 75014 Paris.

Catacombs of Paris , 1 Av. du Colonel Henri Rol-Tanguy, 75014 Paris, France
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • To ensure the safety of visitors, French authorities enforce security measures upon entry to the Catacombs. Only bags smaller than 55 cm x 35 cm x 20 cm will be accepted. Walks will is not responsible for entry denied due to large luggage. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience and delay which may be caused by extra security checks.
  • Please be advised that there are 130 steps to the Catacombs. Unfortunately, there is no elevator access. Those with heart problems, claustrophobia, or other medical conditions should take this into consideration before booking this tour.
  • Please note, the people who guard the Paris Catacombs consider women who are visibly pregnant to have a "mobility impairment" and therefore do not allow them to descend into the Catacombs. While we do not necessarily agree with this assessment, we have to respect their policies. If you are visibly pregnant we recommend that you do not take this tour and cannot accept responsibility if you are refused entrance.
  • Unfortunately Catacombs are not accesible for Wheelchairs or strollers
  • IMPORTANT NOTE: Walks complies with all local government regulations. You may need to wear a mask or provide proof of vaccination to enter certain venues. Please refer to France government guidelines for the most up to date information
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • The Paris Catacombs tunnels are often wet and cool (14°C/57°F all year long). We recommend that you wear comfortable shoes and appropriate clothes.
  • The tour is in English only
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Walks - Paris
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Skip-the-Line Paris Catacombs Special Access Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Paris Catacombs Special Access Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Skip-the-Line Paris Catacombs Special Access Tour?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Paris Catacombs Special Access Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Skip-the-Line Paris Catacombs Special Access Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Paris Catacombs Special Access Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "If you chill in 57 degree weather, bring a jacket." See review
  • "Do NOT go without a tour guide as people looked bored wandering through the passages." See review
  • "This tour requires a fair amount of walking (over 1 mile) and is not for those persons with claustrophobia (fear of enclosed small spaces)." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

5.0
star-5
378 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 378 reviews
star-5
Catacombs
Timea_P
, Aug 2022
The tour guide was excellent! This is a must do if you are in Paris! The experience has great history of Paris
star-5
Amazing catacombs
Catherine_C
, Aug 2022
Guide Katelyn was amazing. She was a wealth of information and was very entertaining. She guided us through the maze of tunnels and even some that we’re not open to the general public. One of our best tour guides on this trip.
star-5
Learned a lot
Kimberly_B
, Aug 2022
Amazing experience. Julia was a knowledgeable and helpful guide. Learned so much. The tour was kind of chilly - bring a sweater.
star-5
Our tour guide was...
William_H
, Jul 2022
Our tour guide was fantastic - she let us know just afterwards that it was her first time doing it, but she came across like a seasoned pro. Would recommend this to anyone, especially for line jump and access to private areas of the catacombs with no crowds.
star-1
A bust
pkurylo
, Jul 2022
Trip time changed from 1230 to 5. Couldn’t make revises time. Dont recall receiving an email as to the change either. Pretty disappointing.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hello pkurylo, Thank you for your feedback. I am terribly sorry you were unable to join our tour and enjoy the Catacombs at the new tour time. In spite of travel being back in full force across our destinations, we do have to respect the wishes of the site management regarding when we enter as a group, and unfortunately, as we use group tickets to enter, we had to push back to a later time per their request. I can see we sent a communication to you regarding this change and your acknowledgment that this new time did not suit you. If you would kindly reach out to feedback@walks.org, I would love to talk through this with you. Best, Amanda
star-5
We all loved it
Timothy_K
, Jul 2022
Leo our tour guide was great, lots of knowledge and told us lots of stories about history of it and current catophiles.
star-1
Disappointed
Tommy_E
, Jul 2022
Hard to write a review when I never took the tour that we paid for. The reception in the area was not good so we only had the meeting info. The manager came out several times to apologize on behalf of the company. She allowed us in to the museum after 12:30 but we did not get a guided tour nor did we skip the line. The company sent us a message and said that our tour had been postponed to a later time and blamed the management for the issue. However the manager came out several times and never mentioned any issues. Disappointed that the company could not take responsibility and simply said that we might have been at the wrong meeting place.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hello Tommy_E, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are really sorry you were unable to join our guided tour. I have looked into your reservation and I can confirm we sent you a communication advising the tour was to start an hour later than originally planned but you did not confirm the change. If you would kindly reach out to us at feedback@walks.org, I would like to delve into this further with you as it seems you were in communication with the Catacombs staff and not our team on the ground. Kind regards, Amanda
star-1
Tour Guide Never Showed Up
Rishma_S
, Jul 2022
Our tour guide never showed up! Took over an hour to find someone at Viator to speak to and then was on hold for another 45 minutes. Only explanation received was “sorry there was confusion”. That’s it. Have booked with and recommended Viator many times. But never again
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hello Rishma_S, Thank you for your feedback. I am extremely sorry that you were unable to join your tour. Would you kindly provide more information to us by sending us an email to feedback@walks.org? I would like to investigate this more for you. Best, Amanda
star-5
Best Tour Ever!
AlexandraGrace_K
, Jun 2022
Kaitlyn was probably one of the best guides I have ever had! We had a small group, of about 20-30 people and she remembered everyone's names. She made sure we could all hear her during our stops along the way. It was truly an amazing tour and I would do it again! We were able to get into restricted areas and learn even more about the catacombs; which was incredible. I learned so much and will be scheduling with my family when I am back.
star-5
This place needs a guide, and our guide was GREAT!
Jennifer_C
, Jun 2022
The catacombs of Paris are a must-see - and one of those places in which a good tour guide makes the difference between fascinating and forgettable. Julia told great stories about how the catacombs came to be built, to be used as bone depositories, and later as macabre party locations... this is one of those places so weird you could never make it up. Go with a great storyteller!
star-5
Katlyn was AWESOME!
Brian_M
, Jun 2022
Katlyn was one of the best tour guides on the whole trip. She was very knowledgeable and super funny. The catacombs were really cool and we highly recommend the tour.
star-5
Made the Catacombs come alive
Charity_J
, Jun 2022
We booked this very special “no-line” tour of the Catacombs and it was a great way to see this unbelievable Paris landmark. Our guide, Julia, took us through a historical journey of the toured section of the 200+ miles of Paris Catacombs . Julia is imbued with French history and it was clear from her delivery that her passion for France and its amazing past is a passion for her. On this tour you will learn the background of the city and the country that led to creation of the limestone quarries and the eventual resting place for the bones of deceased Parisiens. Julia will take you on sections of the Catacombs reserved for guided tours only, and she will share with you what you need to know so you can fully appreciate this awesome site. In addition, Julia will also take you through the Paris local’s current relationship to the Catacombs including some pretty amazing amazing and scary stories. Julia is exuberant about every detail and does a great job weaving a story that leaves you wanting to know more about French history. What we learned from Julia enriched our other site seeing stops and made those more informed and rich. I highly recommend this tour of the Catacombs.
star-5
Catacombs
Emily_T
, Jun 2022
Kaitlin was a great guide! Very interesting and would rate it a 10 out of 10! Such an interesting part of Paris history!
star-5
Amazing tour
Candy_C
, Jun 2022
Amazing tour!! It was so informative and our guide Kaitlyn was awesome - I would highly recommend for something out of the norm
star-5
A must-do: Unique, fascinating, and a bit macabre
Karli_D
, Jun 2022
An absolutely fascinating tour. Kaitlyn was a wonderful guide and storyteller. The tour was excellent …in a confronting-your-own-morality kind of way. I would highly recommend.
star-5
Must-See in Paris
Betsybagsby
, Jun 2022
This is an amazing experience and unlike anything my family has ever done. Highly recommended! Michelle, our tour guide, was friendly and extremely knowledgeable, and she made a great tour even better.
star-5
Must Do - Paris Catacombs Skip the Line SAT
Dallas_B
, Jun 2022
Julia was a Fantastic Guide for this informative and educational Tour of Paris’s macabre past. She made it interesting.
star-5
Best tour guide we have ever had
greg_g
, Jun 2022
Michelle was passionate and an expert in the subject. She is very personable and encouraged questions. Highly recommended.
star-5
Great tour
Mark_L
, Jun 2022
Great guide, very knowledgeable. It was great to get the history of how the bones came to be. It was maybe a tod bit long. 2.5 hours. But overall a very cool experience
star-5
Must see for family vacations to Paris - experiential history!
Matt_H
, Jun 2022
Leo, our guide, was very knowledgeable on the history of the catacombs, had many great stories and waited after to answer any questions.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Skip-the-Line Paris Catacombs Special Access Tour
Likely to Sell Out
Skip-the-Line Paris Catacombs Special Access Tour

star-5378

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$87.59

star-5117

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$127.06

star-4.5744

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$82.38

star-3.5103

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$45.88

star-4.5848

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$103.23

star-00

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$33.37

star-41386

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$78.20

star-526

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$124.09

star-5234

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$66.73
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations